Skip to Main

April 26, 2023

Schweikert Named Vice Chair of Joint Economic Committee

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Representative David Schweikert (AZ-01) released the following statement after being named Vice Chairman of the Joint Economic Committee for the 118th Congress:

“I am excited and grateful to serve as Vice Chairman of the Joint Economic Committee for the 118th Congress. I look forward to working alongside my colleagues to review, improve, and advise on one of our nation’s most important priorities: the U.S. economy. Advancing policies that increase growth and productivity are absolutely critical to creating jobs and lowering costs for American families.”

Rep. Schweikert has served on the Committee for four terms and will start his fifth serving as Vice Chair alongside Senator Martin Heinrich (D-NM), who will serve as Chair. The chairmanship alternates between the Senate and House every Congress.

A full list of committee members is below.

House Members


1.  Rep. David Schweikert (R-AZ-01) – Vice Chairman
2.  Rep. Jodey Arrington (R-TX-19)
3.  Rep. Ron Estes (R-KS-04)
4.  Rep. Drew Ferguson (R-GA-03)
5.  Rep. Lloyd Smucker (R-PA-11)
6.  Rep. Nicole Malliotakis (R-NY-11)


7.  Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA-08) – Senior House Democrat
8.  Rep. David Trone (D-MD-06)
9.  Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI-04)
10.  Rep. Katie Porter (D-CA-47)

Senate Members


11. Senator Martin Heinrich (D-NM) – Chairman 
12. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) 
13. Senator Maggie Hassan (D-NH) 
14. Senator Mark Kelly (D-AZ)
15. Senator John Fetterman (D-PA) 
16. Senator Peter Welch (D-VT) 


17. Senator Mike Lee (R-UT) – Senior Senate Republican
18. Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR)
19. Senator J.D. Vance (R-OH)
20. Senator Eric Schmitt (R-MO)


The Joint Economic Committee (JEC) was created when Congress passed the Employment Act of 1946. Under this Act, Congress established two advisory panels: the President’s Council of Economic Advisers (CEA) and the Joint Economic Committee. Their primary tasks are to review economic conditions and to recommend improvements in economic policy.

Back to News