Skip to Main

October 11, 2023

Schweikert Introduces Legislation Redirecting Frozen Iranian Assets to Support Israel

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Congressman David Schweikert (AZ-01) introduced the Fortify Israel Act, legislation authorizing the $6 billion in funds that were recently unfrozen for Iran to be repurposed to Israel to help bolster the country’s defenses in the wake of the barbaric and unprovoked attacks organized by Iranian-backed Hamas terrorists. The funds would be made available through a non-interest-bearing account to procure weapons, equipment, and services for Israel.

The bill stipulates that in addition to the $6 billion released to Iran, any current or future Iranian assets seized by the U.S. Treasury Department will be permitted for Israel to use as it fights to defend itself against terrorism.

This legislation also prohibits any blocked assets from being released to Iran until all hostilities between Hamas and other Iranian-backed groups and Israel have ceased. Additionally, Israel must be fully compensated for harms resulting from Hamas’ invasion before any Iranian assets are unfrozen, and Congress must be notified at least 30 days in advance of such release of Iranian assets.

“With each passing hour, the details of the barbaric and unconscionable assault against Israel coordinated by Iranian-backed Hamas terrorists become increasingly horrific,” said Congressman Schweikert. “The United States must stand firmly and offer unwavering support to our strongest ally in the Middle East by any means necessary. This legislation ensures any current or future foreign assets frozen by the Treasury Department, including the $6 billion in Iranian funds recently unfrozen, be used to support Israel’s right to defend itself. The Iranian regime and other state sponsors of terrorism can no longer be permitted to fund Hamas’ terrorist activities against the people of Israel.”

Original co-sponsors of the Fortify Israel Act include Reps. Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Zach Nunn (IA-03), Clay Higgins (LA-03), Keith Self (TX-03), Byron Donalds (FL-19), Randy Feenstra (IA-04), Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01), Mike Carey (OH-15), Rich McCormick (GA-06), and Matt Rosendale (MT-02).

The full text of the bill can be found here.

Back to News