Skip to Main

October 21, 2021

Congressmen David Schweikert Introduces New Legislation In Honor Of Dr. C.T Wright

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressman David Schweikert (AZ-06) introduced H.R.5650 – legislation that will designate the Scottdale Fountain Hills United States Post Office located at 16605 East Avenue of the Fountains in Fountain Hills, AZ, as the “Dr. C.T. Wright Post Office Building.” This legislation is a commemoration of Dr. C.T. Wright, who was a distinguished and devoted public servant.

“Dr. C.T Wright will be remembered as a mentor and true leader throughout the education, criminal justice, and faith communities in Arizona. As a devoted public servant and valued neighbor, C.T Wright will be remembered for his great passion for his family, education, faith, freedom, and human rights. He leaves behind a great legacy that has reached communities across Arizona. He was a thoughtful, compassionate, and kind man who always cared for others while ensuring a good future for all. C.T. Wright served countless communities unselfishly and served as great leader,” said Rep. Schweikert.

This legislation would dedicate a United States Postal Office in Dr. C.T. Wright’s honor, for his distinguished achievements and contributions to countless Arizona communities.

Dr. C.T. Wright graduated with a B.S. from Fort Valley State University before earning his M.A. from Clark Atlanta University and his PhD from Boston University. As both a teacher and administrator, Dr. Wright was passionate educator, bringing his expertise to many of the country’s historically black colleges. In the years following his time teaching, Dr. Wright shifted his focus more broadly to help with human rights. He was the founder of Light of Hope Institute. For the last 21 years of his life, Dr. Wright was a resident of Arizona. As a figurehead in the local community, he served in several capacities, including Chairman of the Arizona Board of Executive Clemency; member of the Fountain Hills Unified School District Governing Board; President of the Fountain Hills Kiwanis Club; and President of the Arizona African Society.

This legislation is cosponsored by all members of the Arizona Congressional House Delegation: Reps. Tom O’Halleran (AZ-01), Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-02), Raúl Grijalva (AZ-03), Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. (AZ-04), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Debbie Lesko (AZ-08) and Greg Stanton (AZ-09).

To read the full text of the bill, click HERE.

Back to News