Skip to Main

May 28, 2021

Congressman Schweikert Leads Letter to President Biden Opposing United States Return to the Iran Nuclear Deal

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressman David Schweikert (AZ-06) led a letter with 23 Members of Congress to President Biden urging the Administration not to return to the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), and to not lift any sanctions imposed on Iran.

“It is critical for the United States to stand in firm opposition to Iran, and keep sanctions in place to help deter terrorism in the region. It is important not only for our own national security, but for the safety and security of Israel as well. By re-entering the JCPOA, the U.S. would be providing Iranian leaders an undeserving gift of financial sanctions relief, which would directly benefit Hamas, who most recently launched over 3,000 rockets towards Israeli schools, homes, and houses of worship. I am hopeful the President will answer this call to stay out of the JCPOA and keep the current sanctions on the Iranian regime in place.”


The Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), commonly known as the Iran nuclear deal, was reached on July 14, 2015 and signed by President Obama. On May 8, 2018, President Trump announced the United States withdrawal from the agreement. 

Currently, the United States has imposed a number of sanctions on Iran due to their financing of terrorism and involvement with militant groups, among other reasons. Recently, the media has reported the Biden Administration is finalizing an agreement with Iran to return to the JCPOA and send sanction relief to Iran.

This letter was signed by Reps. David Schweikert (AZ-06), Marianette Miller-Meeks (IA-02), Vern Buchanan (FL-16), Dan Newhouse (WA-04), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Brian Mast (FL-18), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25), Bill Posey (FL-08), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Ben Cline (VA-06), Tom McClintock (CA-04), Andrew Clyde (GA-09), Ted Budd (NC-13), Tom Emmer (MN-06), Greg Steube (FL-17), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14), Bob Good (VA-05), Randy Weber (TX-14), Lauren Bobert (CO-03), Louie Gohmert (TX-01). Dan Bishop (NC-09), and Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA-03), 

To read the full letter, click HERE

Back to News